Creating an Outline: Part II

In my previous post, Creating An Outline, I wrote about one specific way to write an outline. It is just a suggestion; there are MANY ways to create an outline. I will put two more suggestions of how you can create an outline.

Example 1

Intro: Copyright infringement is an issue in the digital world. This report will cover the problem that exists between digital work and copyright, the purpose of copyright, and the impact social media has made on the copyright law. (State your thesis and claims)

I. Problem that exists between digital work and copyright (Claim 1)
a. supportive research

II. The purpose of copyright (Claim 2)
a. supportive research

II. The impact social media has made on the copyright law (Claim 3)
a. supportive research

Conclusion:

Example 2

Intro: Copyright infringement is an issue in the digital world. This report will cover the problem that exists between digital work and copyright, the purpose of copyright, and the impact social media has made on the copyright law. (State your thesis and claims)

I. Problem that exists between digital work and copyright (Claim 1)
a. I will use research from this article: (insert article)

II. The purpose of copyright (Claim 2)
a. I will use research from this article: (insert article)
b. I will use research from this article: (insert article)
c. I will use research from this article: (insert article)

II. The impact social media has made on the copyright law (Claim 3)
a. I will use research from this article: (insert article)
b. I will use research from this article: (insert article)

Conclusion:

***NOTE***
You can obviously use more than 3 claims! I just used 3 for the examples.

Leave a Reply

