Week #3: Social Media Experience

I’ve been slacking with trying to keep up with social media this week. I find it hard to use these extra platforms for three reasons:
1. I’m usually doing homework, working, or both, so time becomes limited
2. If I’m not at school, then I don’t have access to internet at home, unless I use the data on my phone that I share with 5 other people. If I had internet at home and could work on this in the comfort of my own home, then using these platforms would become 10x easier
3. In all honesty, it becomes harder to use something like these platforms when it becomes homework

This is where I’m at so far with my social media platforms:

Snapchat: The first week I had this, I used it frequently, but it has slowed down quite a bit. Since my last post about Snapchat:
Score Before: 195
Score Currently: 448

Tumblr: I actually reblogged a picture from another students blog this week, but that is all. I still don’t fully understand Tumblr, but a lot of that has to do with me not diving into it to learn how to use it yet.

LinkedIn: There’s a section where you can add certain courses that you have taken. I’m not going to put all of the courses I have taken because it would become too long of a list. It needs to be short enough so someone can see what I have experience with at a quick glance, so it needs to have some thought put into it. So, I have been thinking about what I would add, and one class that I know I’m going to put at the top is the Motion Graphics class I took last semester. It pertains to my degree, I have great interest in it, and from what I have been told, is a unique skill to have.

2 thoughts on “Week #3: Social Media Experience

  1. I didn’t know you could show courses you have taken on LinkedIn. That’s good to know. It could become something like a mini-transcript. And yes, I agree that the moment something becomes homework it sucks all of the joy right out of doing it. I didn’t enjoy reading as much as I did after finishing school and choosing for myself what to read.

    So let me ask this question. Does having some flexibility in assignments help matters at all? E.g. choosing which social media platforms to explore? Or does it make no difference whether or not something specific is required? I’m really curious on this, because I’ve been there and I seriously try to address the problem, but I have my doubts as to whether or not providing student choice in assignments has any effect on the drudgery. In other words, how can homework assignments become less tedious?

    • I think having flexibility in assignments is definitely a benefit. I know that I have more interest in using Tumblr or LinkedIn over Twitter, so having choices makes the homework aspect better. If I had been told that I have to use platform x, y, and z, then it would become more of a struggle because they may not be where my interests lie. I like that you can mold it to your own personal interests.

Leave a Reply

