Filming Preparation

8 Ways to Shoot Video Like a Pro – Rick Broida

I found a lot of this information to reflect some of the knowledge I gained from Kansas Wesleyan’s Lighting Photography Course.

1. RTFM – “Read The F**king Manual”. I will definitely be spending the rest of my time up to my film date learning how to use the camera. I will not be doing the majority of filming for my video, mainly because I’ll be one of the can can dancers. Although I won’t be filming, I would still like to gain some experience with one of the school’s video cameras since I have not had the opportunity until now.

2. Be Prepared – This is an important step. I need to know all of the equipment that I will need, have a spare of anything that has one (battery, camera, cords, etc.), make a checklist, and go through it at least twice before setting off for my shoot and leaving it. I learned this lesson the hard way in my photography class. We had to do an onsite shoot and the first day, the camera would not work properly. The second day, I forgot the slave receiver, which tells the lights to flash when you take your photo.

My list so far:

  • Both school cameras
  • Audio recorder
  • Extra battery
  • Battery charger
  • Extension cords
  • Lens-cleaning cloth – take care of any smudges (I didn’t even think about this until reading the article)
  • Tripod
  • Lighting gear
  • Duct tape – hold down cords so nobody trips (also didn’t think about this!)

3. Use a Tripod

4. Raise the Lightings – It’s important to get as much light as possible so I don’t end up with poorly lit shots. I can only edit it so much. With the cameras I’ll be using, hopefully the grainy image won’t be a problem. I will have lights so the saloon isn’t a complete cave.

5. Ace the Audio – The audio is another important part to focus on. I will not have conversations going on in this video. I will be laying over audio, so I will need good recordings.

6. Set Up Your Shots –What this goes over is that it’s important to put thought in to the shots you’ll be filming. I’m actually in the process of doing this for my more detailed storyboard. This also covers that all the special effects, like filters, should be added in the editing software where you can manipulate it.

7.  No Digital Zoom – Along with the special effects, you should also do your zooming in the editing software. You can always zoom in with the software, but once you do it with your camera, you can’t zoom back out. The same goes for the filters. Once it’s done, it’s done.

8. Shoot B-Roll – This is footage for any splicing you put in your video. It takes a lot of preplanning so you know what extra shots you need to cut away to. I will be doing some splicing in my video, and I’m also doing this step in my detailed storyboard.

Leave a Reply

