Networking 1 Lab 8

Paige Piper
April 26, 2013

Objective: Practice making a video and finding Creative Commons for our video projects

Equipment:

  • Computer
  • Adobe After Effects
  • Adobe Audition

Notes and Observations:

Task 1:  I took Hitchcock’s example video and replaced the family and bikini scenes with our own shots in After Effects, and then uploaded it to YouTube

Task 2: Find song on jamendo – I selected moods and genres to narrow down my search to a song that I felt would fit in with my video; I chose a song called “Between the Fog”
http://www.jamendo.com/en/track/1023269/between-the-fog

Task 3: Find photo on Flickr – I typed in google into the advanced search engine after selecting the creative commons box, there I found a picture that I feel will work with my video project
Google got a new PR department

Task 4: Researched CC licenses

Resources:

http://www.jamendo.com

http://www.flickr.com/search/advanced/

http://creativecommons.org/licenses/

Isaac Shepard – Before Dawn

Questions:

Which of these licenses could you use in your class video project? Why?

  • Attribution because it allows you to remix other videos into the project just as long as you give credit to that person

Which license would not be acceptable to use in your video project?  Why not?

  • Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs because it doesn’t allow any changes to the work

Which licenses allows you to use the work as long as you share your work with others through Creative Commons as well?

  • Attribution
  • Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike
  • Attribution-ShareAlike
  • Attribution-NonCommercial

Conclusion: 

I enjoyed the video part of this lab the more I got into it.  I didn’t really care for jamendo, I had to search and search and search just to find a song that I liked, and even then I’m not completely satisfied with the one I chose.  Find the creative commons on Flickr was very useful though.  One problem I ran into and still can’t figure out is why the two videos from YouTube uploaded much smaller than they actually are in After Effects, which left a large black frame around it.

Leave a Reply

