Networking 1 Lab02

Networking 1 Lab 2

February 8, 2013

Paige Piper

Objectives: The objective is to familiarize ourselves to CAT5 UTP cables, connectors, and punch-down tools.

Equipment list:

  • CAT5 UTP cable
  • Wire cutters/Scissors
  • Wire stripper
  • Crimp tool
  • 2 RJ-45 connectors
  • Network system
  • Patch panel
  • Punch-down tool

Notes and Observations:

  • Task 1: We worked on making a straight-through cable that is used to connect the computer’s NIC to a hub.  I took the wire stripper and removed the sheath about ½ inch down so I was able to separate the wires.  I untwisted the wires and arranged the like shown in fig. 1, carefully put it into the connector, and used to the crimp tool to connect it .  I did this to the other side and tested it to make sure it worked.
  • Task 2: crossover cable
  • Task 3: n/a
  • Task 4: I used the wire strippers again to remove the sheath, and then I made space between the twisted wires, untwisting it as little as possible.  Then I slipped the wires in the correct order on the patch panel used the punch-down tool to
  • Task 5: I did not do the last project, but my group talked to the instructor about it.

Diagrams, flowcharts, and figures:

Fig.1

Image

References:

Questions:

  1. Why is it important to not untwist the cables any more than necessary?
    • Less interference

Conclusions: I mixed up the wires and had to redo it twice, when making the straight-through cable and putting into the connector.  It was definitely tough straightening out the wires and making sure they stay in the right order while putting them in the connector.  This lab was all a new experience to me, and taught me a lot.  I’ve never worked with cables or punch-down tools and patch panels, and I found out, especially if it’s new, that the process can be very time consuming.

Leave a Reply

